Skip to content

Destiny … Ignore it at your peril part 3

June 22, 2012

Know this …. I sucked up the knowledge that was available to me it what would be almost a full year of recording at The Hit Factory, the playing, the between take chatter, the formulation of the game plan, unfortunately due to the late night sessions and the fact that I was working 3+ jobs at some points I also did a fair share of sleeping on the couch in the control room, not for nothing but know that this action is never a good idea especially if you, like myself are prone to snoring, there is a recording of me making a hideous sound after losing consciousness on one particularly long day… Not good!
“H” came in with a bag full of tunes which were in course arranged by Marky B and laid out for “the band” and as you can imagine these uber-talented Musos ( did I write “Musos”?) had no problem working ways to bring it to life after all that group were veterans of more sessions than you or I will ever be part of.


Grandpa Funk reminisces-
the recording world has changed dramatically since then and as you know in the present day just about anyone that can pony up a couple thousand bucks can have a fairly decent recording set up right at home but in the early 90’s things were much different the gear that took up two large rooms can now live quite comfortably in my laptop.
As we’ve all witnessed many choose to home produce many valid tracks.

To my mind now there might have been many other approaches to getting “H’s” ideas down but the way it played out was Record, listen retake rinse and repeat until a product was achieved and while it went on 7 on there I was soaking up knowledge on the whole process from session calls to mix… and loving it!
At some point it was done and it was time to take it out to see if the world loved it.
Somehow it transpired that “the band” was booked to do a morning show… could it have been Good Morning Louisville?
It was somewhere in Kentucky, in any event we all jumped on a plane and I received a field promotion to Tour Manager.
I can’t remember the city, the host, I do remember the performance ( it was the 90’s and things got a bit foggy at points) It was good and no one complained.
I guess that can be considered a win.
There were to be many more late nights with Marky B crafting and recording “jingles” but I’ll get to that later …
Meanwhile back in New York City…
My new wife was getting a bellyful of living in NYC and in due course put forward the idea of maybe living somewhere else (as you will remember from part 2 that idea was not in my playbook) Homesickness hit her hard, she wanted to go home and after a few years in the city I can hardly blame her, life in the city is not for everyone.
I think I delayed it as long as I could but eventually I had to face it … she had to get home at the time I was hardly in the position to go on an extended vacation to Australia and I certainly couldn’t keep the Apartment go to Oz see the wizard and return to my life quite frankly I didn’t know what to do!
The man I am now knows exactly what should have happened… however the past me was a bit overwhelmed by life and truth be told a bit of a tunnel-visioned idiot.
Indulge me while I explore just exactly what kind of idiot I was!

Part 4 “The idiot in me” soon

– Posted using BlogPress from my iPad

2 Comments
  1. Jess permalink

    ha, i can relate…hindsight is always 20/20. i may be a bit naive, but i still stand by the phrase “everything happens for a reason” and i live with no regrets. no matter how dumb things may seem now, looking back…the moments were very real and true then. we do not pick our destiny, it chooses us.
    how exciting it must have been to be included in a studio full of greats! and at a time when music was still relatively raw. it generally blows now lol any chance that kentucky performance is still out there, floating around somewhere..? : )

Leave a comment