Skip to content

Destiny …. ignore it at your peril part 2

June 19, 2012

So when I left you last i was recounting the point at which my life took a sharp right turn…
So there I was…in a great ( if a bit unfinished ) apartment on 6th ave living with my much admired brother and my new blow in love from Australia, working a bit too hard maybe but livin the dream.
So I had to put up with the occasional NYC cop stopping me to inquire why I was going into this building after hours and explaining for the umpteenth time that I live here! …

Just an aside here… and not for nothing but most of the times I was stopped outside that apartment, I was carrying guitar, amp, gig bag not the usual gear of a burglar which is undoubtedly what they thought I was, I will admit that it was a strange place to live, that was part of the fun of living there.


So love was in my house and I was well… lovin it.
I had only two provisos for my new love
1. Don’t stay with me if you ever want to live anywhere but NYC
2. don’t stay with me if you want children
( Since I sit in a cafe in Melbourne Australia as the father of two beautiful girls you can guess how that worked out.)
For my part I can say I loved her … from the first night when we stayed up all night talking on the roof of that apartment on 6th ave there was no doubt for me.
I must say we made an imposing pair she tall, buxom delightfully freckled and dripping that Australian accent Me not quite so tall, hipster-ish with a head full of dreads and ever so slightly out of touch with the common reality.
In due course we had a wedding day, at Manhattan municipal building down by City Hall. Our wedding party of one … Aunty Wendy and her video cam.
As I remember it we waited in the hall of this great municipal building ( if you ever watch Law & Order it features prominently in the opening credits)
with other soon to be married folk, then our time came and we saw the official conducting the “ceremony” had an egg timer and a look that said you have this much … and no more well… he had never met Aunty Wendy! no sir … she would have none of that! by the end she had him holding the video, shooting reverse angles … he had no chance at all!
When we finally left Aunty led us to a little cafe nearby for an early morning celebratory cocktail.
The three of us made a delightfully odd group.
We had a drink and a chat then off I went to work.

Part of my day was spent torch in hand at a Jewelers bench, and then to Morton street for Guitar lessons which I got in trade for being Marky B’s in house Guitar tech/ engineer/ gofer / / / while he was building his Jingle house … Brick By Brick.
Musical experience
It was my association with Marky B that I received one of the biggest boosts to my musical education at that time… outside of his outstanding tuition in all things Jazz & guitar as the fates would have it another of his students had an interest in making a recording let’s call him H.S.
H.S. was no ordinary singer songwriter his “S” came from the southern and apparently deep pocketed S’s so it was not long before we were all installed in the extraordinary recording rooms at “The hit factory” along with ( beware the falling names) the late great bassist Steve Logan, Drummer Van Romaine, saxophonist Dan Wilensky & Adam Holtzman on Keys and behind the desk still the best ears, knob tweaker and voice of musical reason Mark Harder. There was more musical knowledge in that room than you can imagine!
Stay tuned for part 3 “H’s Eccentric Playground”
soon

– Posted using BlogPress from my iPad

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment